

Lea County

Executive Office | 100 N. Main, Suite 4 | Lovington, NM 88260 | www.leacounty.net

PUBLIC RELEASE

Contact: Monica M. Russell, PIO, 575-396-9110 mrussell@leacounty.net

May 26, 2023

UNDERSHERIFF WALKER NAMED OUTSTANDING SAFETY OFFICER

At the 89th Annual Hobbs Chamber of Commerce Banquet and Community Awards Ceremony on May 25, 2023, Lea County Undersheriff Michael Walker was recognized by Hobbs Jaycees as the Outstanding Safety Officer of the Year.

Walker was nominated for the award by Robert Guthrie, Executive Director of Option, Inc.

"This is a man who is invested in Lea County," Elijah Taylor, Past Chairman of the Chamber Board said while reading the nomination. "He works to protect and serve the residents, thereby increasing th quality of life in our county. He is conscientious, thoughtful and works to solve problems quietly. He is loyal and dedicated to any cause he commits himself to. He is a man who leads by example."

Lea County District 4 Commissioner Jonathan Sena, who was present at the awards ceremony, expressed his appreciation for Walker's dedication to Lea County.

"Undersheriff Michael Walker is an extraordinary leader and continues to work to make an impact on our community," Sena said. "We are so grateful for everything he does to make sure every Lea County citizen is safe."

Walker serves on the boards for Option, Inc., Rotary, Lea County Communications Authority and the FBI Academy New Mexico. He is also involved with the Affirming Hearts Child Advocacy Center and Lea County Drug Task Force.

"Myself, as well as the entire Lea County Sheriff's Office, want to congratulate Undersheriff Michael Walker," said Lea County Sheriff Corey Helton. "Undersheriff Walker has been instrumental in the success of the Sheriff's Office. As the Sheriff, I can tell you nobody works harder than him when it comes to this office and the community he serves. I'm very proud of him and all his accomplishments, especially this recognition."

Walker came to the Sheriff's Office as the Undersheriff in June 2018 after retiring from Hobbs Police Department as a captain.

Previous Lea County Sheriff's Office recipients of the Outstanding Safety Officer award include Travis Hobbs, Michael Tovar, Jeffrey Walker, Hap Vardeman, Kelly Brown, Lorenzo Velasquez and Keith Rice.