

## Lea County

Executive Office | 100 N. Main, Suite 4 | Lovington, NM 88260 | www.leacounty.net

**PUBLIC RELEASE** 

July 18, 2023

Contact: Monica M. Russell, PIO, 575-396-9110 mrussell@leacounty.net

## LEA APPROVES SELECTION PROCESS TO FILL STATE SENATE VACANCY

Longtime Republican Senator Gay Kernan has announced her resignation from the New Mexico State Senate, effective August 1, 2023.

As provided by Article 4, Section 4 of the State Constitution, the Lea County Board of County Commissioners (LCBCC) may fill the vacancy left in District 42, which represents and central Lea County, as well as portions of Chaves and Eddy Counties, by appointment.

At a special meeting held on July 18, 2023, the LCBCC approved a resolution approving the selection process to fill said vacancy.

Interested applicants must take the following steps to apply:

- 1. Submit a letter of interest to the Lea County Board of County Commissioners by either hand-delivering the letter t60 the Human Resources Department, 100 N. Main, First Floor, Lovington, New Mexico, 88260, or by emailing the letter to <a href="manager@leacounty.net">manager@leacounty.net</a> by 2:00P.M. (MDT), Wednesday, August 2, 2023.
- 2. Submit, with the letter of interest, a resume and proof of residency within Senate District 42. Proof of residency may be submitted in the form of a utility bill, voter identification card, driver license, or other government issued identification that bears an address within the District.
- 3. Applicants shall appear at a Special Meeting of the LCBCC to be held at 9:00A.M. (MDT), Wednesday, August 16, 2023, Commission Chambers, 100 N. Main, Lovington, NM 88260. Applicants may be asked to make a time-limited introduction of themselves to the County Commission and the LCBCC may ask questions of the applicants.

Senator Kernan has served in the New Mexico Senate since 2002. She is a ranking member of the Senate Tax, Business & Transportation Committee, a member of the Senate Education Committee, holds an interim committee membership in the Legislative Education Study Committee and Revenue and is a standing advisor to the Revenue Stabilization & Tax Policy Committee.