2024 2nd Annual Lew Benham Scholarship BBQ Cookoff "SPLIT THE POT" DESSERT COOK-OFF Superintendent: Brad Dillon (409) 770-7493 Co-Chairs: Dan Moore (281) 723-2819 & Mimzi Foreman (713) 576-6970

Location: Galveston County Fairgrounds, Jack Brooks Park, Hwy 6

Entry Fee: \$35.00 per Team, per Entry – Non-Refundable. You Must be in the BBQ Cook-off to enter Dessert Division. There is NO limit on number of entries.

Entry Cut-off Time: Monday, June 17, 2024

Judging: 8:00 p.m. Friday, June 21, 2024

Awards:Prize Money to be distributed as follows:1st Place30% of the Total Entry Fees2ndPlace20% of the Total Entry Fees3rd Place10% of the Total Entry Fees

Chief Cook's Meeting: Friday, June 21, 2024, 3:30 p.m.

- 1. All team members must be 21 years of age or older.
- 2. Dessert must be cooked onsite, in the spot registered.
- 3. No alcohol of any kind shall be placed in the judging container but may be used in the cooking process.
- 4. Dessert Division samples will be requested at 7:45 p.m. and shall be delivered to the designated Cookoff area by 8:00 p.m.
- 5. Judging
 - a. Category will be judged in a single (1) phase.
 - b. Entries will be judged on 3 criteria (Appearance (15%), Taste (50%), and Texture (35%))
 - c. A table with a minimum of 5 judges will score the equally allocated samples. (Each team may be required to provide a judge who is not the Chief Cook)
 - d. The lowest score from the judges will be dropped with the remaining scores being used for category placement.
 - e. Enough samples for 8 judges must be placed in the container for judging.
- 6. No non-food items allowed in the container.
- 7. Samples turned in with unsanitary inclusions will be disqualified (hair, bugs, plastic, dirt, etc.)
- 8. Protests of any team, equipment, or sample (any division) must be turned into the cook-off committee no later than one (1) hour prior to judging of that division with the \$100.00 non-refundable fee.
- 9. All other rules of the 2024 Galveston County Lew Benham Scholarship Cook-off apply.
- 10. All decisions of the Cook-off Committee and Judges are final.