

Distinguished Service AwardPresented to an individual or individuals for their dedication and service to the Oregon wheat

industry.

YEAR	RECIPIENT	CAPACITY
1967	E.R. Jackman	Extension Agronomist, OSU
	D.D Hill	Head, Farm Crops Dept., OSU
	Charles W. Smith	Assistant Director, OSU Extension Service
1968	LeRoy Wright	County Extension Agent, Moro, retired
	Vic Johnson	County Extension Agent, Pendleton, retired
1969	Ronald Rew	Farmer, Pendleton
	Elmer Lierman	Ag Representative, US National Bank, The
		Dalles
1970	Kirby Brumfield	Farm Editor, KATU-TV, Portland
	Marion Weatherford	Rancher, Arlington
1971	Giles French	Editor, Sherman County Journal, Moro
1972	James Hill Jr.	General Manager, Pendleton Grain Growers,
	Floyd Root	retired
	B.J. Noles	
1973	Virgil Choate	Ag Representative, US National Bank, The
	Richard Crabtree	Dalles
		Manager, Pacific Northwest Grain & Grain
		Products Association, Portland
1974	R.K. Baum	Executive Vice President, Western Wheat
	Claude Steusloff	Associates, Portland
		Farm Editor, Capital Press, Salem
1975	John Welbes	Executive Vice President, OWGL, retired
1977	Norm Goetze	Extension Agronomist, OSU, Corvallis
1978	Ralph McEwen	Administrator, Oregon Wheat Commission,
		retired
1980	Warren Kronstad	Professor of Agronomy, OSU, Corvallis
1981	Don Woodward	Helix farmer, past president of NAWG, and US
		Special Trade Representative to International
		Wheat Agreement
1982	Bill Hulse	Dufur farmer, past president of US Wheat
		Associates

1983	Ernest Briskey	Special Presidential Citation C Dean of OSU
		Agriculture College
1984	Dan Breland	Pendleton Flour Mills
1985	Food Agency of Japan	
1986	Robert F. Smith	Member of Congress
1987	Marion Weatherford	Rancher, Arlington
1988	Dick Skiles	Wasco farmer, past OWGL president and OWC
		Chair
1989	Mike Thorne	State Senator, Pendleton
1990	Wes Grilley	OWGL Executive Vice President
	Dorothy Hammons	OWGL Bookkeeper
1991	Mike Stoltz	OSU Extension Agent
1992	Bob Ramig	Columbia Basin Agricultural Research Center
	Matt Kolding	OSU/Columbia Basin Agricultural Research
		Center
1993	Allan Pinkerton	Farmer, Pendleton
1994	Ivan Packard	Oregon Wheat Commission Administrator,
		Portland, retired
1995	Frank Tubbs	Farmer, Past Chair Western Wheat Associates,
		Adams
1996	Russ Karow	OSU Extension Cereals Specialist, Corvallis
1997	Clinton Reeder	Farmer, Pendleton
1998	Ralph Ward	Farmer, Baker City
1999	Bob and Lynne	Bob - leading the effort for Legislative passage
	Buchanan	of a research funding package
		Lynne - for her work in the salmon and dam
		breaching issue as Environment & Energy
		Committee Chair
2000	Don Stonebrink	Past President OWGL, past member of Oregon
		Grains Commission, Wallowa
2001	Jim Stonebrink	Past President OWGL, Past President - NAWG,
		Wallowa
2002	Hank Sakamoto	Market Analyst
2003	Gordon Smith	U.S. Senator
	Greg Walden	Congressman
		Both were instrumental in passing Healthy
		Forest Legislation

VF Board etsy" Program,
, ,
Past President
on House
WF
eer
Commerce)
l Counsel
WGL
vices
est Coast
esident, OWC
ent Head
e Professor
e Professor
Agent
ip
President,
at Commission
entinger in the
at C

2022	Nicole Anderson	OSU Extension
	Ron Alvarado	USDA NRCS State Conservationist
2023	Chris Mundt	OSU Plant Pathologist
2024	John Zielinski	OSU Seed Certification Service