

Voice of the Industry Award Presented to an individual who is, or has been, active in the industry and who has contributed to

the improvement of the industry.

Year	Recipient	Capacity
1984	Bob Buchanan	Farmer, Milton-Freewater
1985	Earl Pryor	Farmer, Past NAWG President,
		Condon
1986	Jack Hay	The Dalles
1987	Wes Grilley	OWGL Executive Vice President,
		Pendleton
1988	Dewey Rand, Jr.	Editor, Capital Press, Salem
1989	Gary Stewart	Northwest Ag News Network
1990	Clinton Reeder	Farmer, Helix
1991	Oregonians for Food & Shelter	Salem
1992	Mike Forrester	Capital Press, Salem
1993	Bruce Andrews	Director of Agriculture, Salem
1994	Virgil Rupp	Agri-TimesNorthwest, Pendleton
1995	Stan Timmermann	Farmer, Past Chair of US Wheat
		Associates, Pendleton
1996	Norm Goetze	Retired Extension Agronomist, OSU,
		Past OWGL President, Corvallis
1997	Tony Flagg	President, Pendleton Flour Mills
1998	John Oades	US Wheat Associates/Portland
1999	Trudi Evans	Oregon Grains Commission, National
		Barley Growers Association Vice
		President
2000	Paulette Pyle	Oregonians for Food and Shelter,
		Salem
2001	Steve Burnet	Cenex Harvest States Board Chairman
2002	Judy Rea	Past OWGL President, Ione, 2002
		OWC Chair
2003	Judge Laura Pryor	Gilliam County Wheat Quality
		Project; Eastern Oregon Rural
		Alliance Founder

2004	Daren Coppock	Past OWGL Executive Vice President;
		Current NAWG CEO
2012	David Nelson	Oregon Senator
2015	Louis & Betty Carlson	Past OWGL President & supporter of
		the Wheat League
2017	Sen. Bill Hansell	Oregon Senator
2018	Sterling Allen	Publisher, Agri-Times Newspaper
2022	Bob Newtson	Past Oregon Wheat Commissioner
2023	Darren Padget	USW Past Chair, Oregon Wheat
		Commissioner

Award was from the Oregon Agri-Business Council up until 2003