President:

SAMUEL J. ZAFFUTO 355 N. Park St. Sykesville, PA 15865 (814) 894-5723

Vice President: MARTHA EBERSOLE 640 Deliville Rd. Duncannon, PA 17020 (717) 834-4435

Exec. Secretary/Treasurer: HARRY REFFNER 128 Cumberland Road Bedford, PA 15522 (866) 814-6985 fax (866) 231-4829

Immediate Past President: DR. SALLY K. NOLT 25 Iris Circle Elizabethtown, PA 17022 (717) 367-7256

Executive Committee: C. SHERMAN ALLEN Conneaut Lake, PA 16316 (814) 671-9947 JOHN BERNE Crosby, PA 16724 (814) 887-5396

KEVIN D. BIEBER Oley, PA 19547 (610) 987-6529

JOHN D. BLANEY, JR. Perryopolis, PA 15473 (724) 677-2228

DAVID W. COWDEN Hickory, PA 15340 (724) 356-2577

ROGER DIRLAM Honesdale, PA 18431 (570) 253-3540

KAREN DOBSON Pottstown, PA 19465 (610) 469-0263

TONY R. FRAZIER Bloomsburg, PA 17815 (570) 784-9158

BEVERLY GRUBER New Tripoli, PA 18066 (610) 393-0294

BEN HAAGEN Howard, PA 16841 (814) 383-4428

SUSAN HAHN Pen Argyl, PA 18072 (610) 863-6816 JUDY KMETZ Shavertown, PA 18708 (570) 675-2952

DR. MIKE KOWALEWSKI Montrose, PA 18801 (570) 278-9250 CRAIG LASH West Newton, PA 15089 (724) 433-9395

JANA L. MALOT Harrisonville, PA 17228 (717) 571-8637

SHIRLEY MCINTIRE Jackson Center, PA 16133 (724) 699-0797

JEANNE MILLER Girard, PA 16417 (814) 774-5703 JIM REED

Slippery Rock, PA 16057 (724) 967-6627

DR. DAVID REESE, DVM Pine City, NY 14871 (607) 733-3154 DEBBIE STEPHENSON Prosperity, PA 15329 (724) 627-4752 GLENN STOLTZFUS Manheim, PA 17545

(717) 405-0698

Members At Large:

MILLIRON & GOODMAN, Lobbyist Harrisburg, PA 17101 (717) 232-5322 TRACY BARONE PA Dept. of Agriculture, Fair Fund Harrisburg, PA 17110 (717) 772-3094

GALLA HIGINBOTHAM, Associates Rep. Alexandria, PA 16611 (814) 669-4443



PENNSYLVANIA STATE ASSOCIATION OF COUNTY FAIRS

MINUTES FALL MEETING October 20, 2022 – 11AM CENTRE HALL, PA

Sam Zaffuto called the meeting to order. George Witherite led the Pledge of Allegiance and Ben Haagen offered prayer. Sam welcomed Joe Irons as the designated replacement from McKean County to replace John Berne, who has resigned. Roll Call - present were C Sherman Allen, David Cowden, John Blaney Jr., Roger Dirlam, Martha Ebersole, Bev Gruber, Susan Hahn, Tony Frazier, Ben Haagen, Joe Irons, Judy Kmetz, Dr. Mike Kowalewski, Craig Lash, Jana Malot, Shirley McIntire, Jeanne Miller, Sally Nolt, Jim Reed, David Reese, Harry Reffner, Glenn Stoltzfus and Samuel Zaffuto. Excused Kevin Bieber, Karen Dobson, Craig Lash, Debbie Stephenson. Honorary members, Byron Glessner, Bruce Koppenhaver, John McMullen, and George Witherite. Members at Large –Tracy Barone & Ashley Fehr both from the Department of Ag, and Kerry Lange from Milliron.

MINUTES OF THE FALL MEETING – Harry Reffner minutes of the Fall meeting were posted on the website. Roger Dirlam made the motion to accept the minutes¹² by Ben Haagen, carried. TREASURER'S REPORT – Harry Reffner The directors were asked to print specific reports before our meeting. Balance Sheet:

Last year at this time we had a balance sheet of \$298,736, roughly \$3,000 decrease, comparing to 2020 balance we had \$314,644. Register and reports detail the activity to each account

Scholarship Register:

Again we will be able to fund the 6 scholarships.

Savings:

\$17,000 was transferred from Convention to Savings. Ben Haagen made the motion to accept the minutes 2nd by Roger Dirlam, carried.

ASSOCIATION UPDATE - Harry Reffner

All 108 Fairs are current with their dues, notices have been sent out to update the database and the 2023 directory. Please advise me of date changes after the directory has been published, and I will sent out a notification.

I have had zones 1, 3, & 4 reporting a problem with the IRS, they are working with their accountants to resolve the problems. Problems appear to revolve around the 990 and their 501c3 status. If you have a question about your 501c3 status the notification from IRS reflecting those fairs as a subordinate of PSACF are on our website. IRS response is extremely slow and I have advised the fairs of the slowness.

2023 will be year of change for the state director board. A total of 5 have chosen not to seek re-election the majority due to health. Those that are leaving have a total of 63 years' service to the association. There are 2 from Zone 1 and Zone 4 and 1 from Zone 3.

John Berne has submitted a request for Honorary, the board granted.